click to return to the home page click for news page click to read biography interviews click for music pages click for stage & screen pages visit the guestbook click for stuff pages click for gallery page

Andy Roberts produced a string of highly regarded and critically acclaimed solo albums during the 1970's in addition to his involvement with Plainsong, Grimms, The Liverpool Scene, and collaborations with Everyone and Yellow Dog. Several 'Best Of' compilations were released in the 1980's and the Mooncrest CD in 1994, culminating in the 'Just For The Record - the solo anthology', put together with Andy's full co-operation in 2006.

Andy Roberts prior to Paris gig in 2009

link Andy's Solo Career

Andy playing his Gretsch guitar circa 1973

h guitar circa 1973

Andy Roberts soslo on tour in 200* with Roy Harper

Andy in Morocco in 1974




Peg Records





Side One


1 Rainy Night Blues - Shelagh McDonald

2 What I was Thinking - Al Jones

3 Trafalgar Square - Synanthesia

4 Broadened - P C Kent

5 The Sound of Rain - Robin Scott

6 B C People - Nadia Cattouse


Side Two


1 Domeana - Martin Carthy

2 Where the Soul of Man Never Dies - Andy Roberts

3 All around my Grandmother's Floor - Nadia Cattouse

4 Bed-sit Blues - Keith Christmas

5 Yawny Morning Song - Mike Hart

6 Ire and Spottiswoad - Al Jones


The sleeve notes on this album are slightly misleading.

They say that Andy had recorded three albums for PEG; Home Grown, Nina & the Dream Tree and The Grass Cuts Back. The only album Andy Roberts recorded and had released by Pegasus was Nina & the Dream Tree (PEG 5). Perhaps there was an intention to re-release Home Grown (on Pegasus), but it didn't happen. The Grass Cuts Back was a title which Andy had in mind for what eventually became Urban Cowboy, released by Elektra in 1972.